My Gilman Scholarship Essay

Hey everyone, if you are struggling to write your essay, I have shared my Gilman essay. Get your creative juices flowing and get personal! This is about sharing YOUR story and your reason behind wanting to study abroad. Don’t forget to think about the bigger picture and how your experience studying abroad can contribute to international education! Good Luck! Don’t forget to address all the questions! Feel free to ask me questions!

Prompt:

1. Why do you wish to study abroad and what factors led you to this decision? What do you hope to gain from and what do you anticipate will be the impact of your experience abroad?
2. Describe your study abroad program. What factors led you to select this program and length of study?
3. Why have you chosen your country of study? What factors led you to select this country?
4. How will this study abroad program and the coursework you take abroad impact your academic, career, and future professional goals?
5. Are there any distinctive components to this program, beyond coursework, that will impact your overall learning experience abroad? (i.e. home-stays, internships, field research, volunteer activities, extra-curricular activities, etc.)
6. What challenges, if any, did you face in your decision to study abroad? How did you meet these challenges and what impact do you foresee them having on your experience abroad? These could include, but are not limited to, being a parent, being a non-traditional student, having a learning or physical disability, being in a field of study for which it is difficult to incorporate study abroad, etc.

Achieving higher education as a student with financial needs was my greatest achievements that I have ever succeeded in. Coming from a low income neighborhood and growing up with gang violence around me, one of my main goals was to surpass and succeed what was going on around me. My greatest fear was that I would not be able to go far in my life or experience what the world had to offer. Hearing police sirens, playing on graffitied playgrounds or having helicopters shine their light in my own backyard was not the ideal experience for a child, but for me, it was commonplace. My neighborhood was predominantly Latino and African American and on many occasions, I would hear racial slurs being thrown in school. Growing up, I developed a habit of being cautious of others and learned to fear people that I did not know. I was afraid to be open and speak my mind because of the fear of being scorned or having others react violently.

I knew that this was not the environment or life that I wanted for myself. I was looking for a place where there was a great deal of respect and understanding for one another. I wanted a place where I could experience others’ appreciation for each other and respect everyone’s differences. Not to fight against or work against each other, but live harmoniously amongst each other. I did not want my socioeconomic status to define who I was as a person and limit my aspirations

Being able to study abroad is important to me personally, because as a student with financial needs, I was never able to have the experience being able to travel to other countries or having resources that were easily accessible such as educated parents or monetary funds. I had to work harder for the lack of these resources. I am constantly seeking the need for a newfound growth and challenge that will equip me for my future aspirations. I have experienced what it is like to live within my means and I am looking to overcome this challenge. I felt that I was always limited to what I could do. With my mom only working and my father unemployed, I never had the chance to travel outside the country or the state of California. Traveling was unaffordable and never became a viable option for me. However, with the globalizing economy, I realize how important it is to create connections with other countries and develop long-lasting relations. With the Gilman scholarship, I hope to be provided with the opportunity to achieve these goals.

It was not until attending the University of California, Irvine that I realized how many opportunities there were for me. Living in a different environment from where I lived back at home was an eye opening experience. I was able to intern for a politician, promote poverty awareness, participate in women’s rugby, and volunteer at UCI Medical Center. I was attempting to learn as much as I could and experience what I was unable to have if I stayed in my hometown. Living away from my parents and developing my own values brings about a sense of fulfillment and motivation to accomplish any challenge that would come my way. Although achieving higher education was a big factor in changing my overall perspective in life, I hope to improve my personal development through studying abroad.

As young college students, now is the time to study abroad.  While learning about myself and creating my own ideals and values, it is important to see perspectives apart from the United States. Having a global education will further my education because I never had the opportunity to experience the rest of the world. By not experiencing a different culture, I am limiting myself and what I have to offer. From this experience, I hope to gain a change in myself,  view the world differently, and enrich my education.  Studying abroad is the next step in my higher education by stepping outside my comfort zone.

My study abroad program is through UCI’s Education Abroad Program at Thammasat University in Bangkok, Thailand during Fall Semester 2012. I chose this program because I wanted to be able to study academic courses while living in a foreign country. I will fulfill my Business Management Minor requirement as well as take Thai cultural studies courses. The courses that I am planning to take are Human Resources Management and International Marketing. Picking “The Land of Smiles” as my country of choice was not solely based on academic reasons.  Thailand’s exotic culture, pristine beaches, scenic mountains, historical sites, and ancient temples were environmental aspects that I wanted to experience instead of choosing a traditional study abroad location. Places such as Australia or Western Europe offer security and familiarity. I wanted to study in a country that I was unaccustomed to, conquer the challenges of adapting to an absolutely different way of life, and grow because of this experience. Thailand has so much to offer because their way of life is far different from industrialized places such as London or America. Thailand is also a newly industrialized country in the process of changing and developing. Even though I am not required to learn the Thai language, speaking Thai will allow me to communicate with the people of Thailand and provide a unique factor in applying for Graduate school. Although challenging, I want to immerse myself in an unfamiliar culture and have a greater appreciation of others. In addition, I want to also give back to Thailand by teaching English to students in rural provinces and underserved areas. By providing me with the opportunity to go abroad for the first time, I want to be able to experience as much as I can and use this opportunity to my full advantage in connecting with the people of Thailand. This experience will change my way of thinking by being more open to diversity  rather than having anxieties or misunderstandings. I want to embrace the history, values, experiences, and lifestyles of every ethnically diverse person and not be rejecting or afraid of my unfamiliarity.

The field that I plan to go into is Human Resource Management (HRM). Studying abroad in Thailand will offer me a unique experience for my field of study. I will be able to obtain a diverse, international perspective on HR Development. As a Psychology & Social Behavior Major minoring in Business Management, I believe that having an international background in Business will enhance my professional growth by exposing me to view business and society differently in the way that the Thais do. In Human Resources we deal with how organizations attract, motivate, develop, and satisfy employees. I want to be able to bring a multicultural aspect to organizations in which I could not get from staying in the U.S. alone.  I will be equipped with the skills I need to deal with international issues regarding employee relations. Studying Abroad will provide me with the foundation of knowing how to communicate with employees of different backgrounds in order to understand a diverse multiethnic workforce.

Leave a comment